Monday, June 28, 2010

Day 3

BARCELLONA! DAY 3 BABY- ALMOST TOO EXCITING!!! Everyone went out knowing what they wanted to do after two days of Barcelona under their belt. Man it was so exciting going into a city that you felt semi familiar with.

I went out with Tom, Chris, and John to a traditional Spanish meal: Tapas, Papya, El Pan the whole works. Regrettably I did not get Sangria, but that will come at a later point. We went to this local restaurant right of tourist center, Las Ramblas. The restaurant owner/s did not speak any english, what a surprise… but the food was amazing. Usually the family owned restaurants had the most traditional and the most authentic foods- so in this case it was true. Spain had just came home with a victory last night so the streets as the restaurant was not crowded at all. We go personal treatment.

We ordered of the “Menu del Dia” which is the Spanish lunch menu with all of the specials. You basically get bread, tapas (basically like a big appetizer or the direct translation “snack”), and a main dish. MMMMmmm Riiight up my ally! I thought just like the luncheon specials in chinese restaurants- perfect. Mind you that finding this restaurant took at least 40 minutes so we were starving. It had to be perfect -cheap, good, and cheap. But there is no such thing. Tom was like “EYYY we’re in barca… EYYYY WE ARE IN BARCELONA- LETS EAT! WHO cares about money- when are you going to be in Barcelona for TAPPAS>??” hah he was right

I ordered a papya con pescado which is like rice and fish as my taaapas. And for my main dish I got pollo con papas which is chicken with french fries. Couulllld not have got a better deal for 10 Euros. MMMmmHM! La comida muy bueno. Definitely go local.

Thinking it about it now I probably should have visited “La Sagrada Familia” with my friends Anna and Mitchelle = (. This is a beautiful church that I saw the first day I came to Barcelona but never went in… You just cant do it all . I liked.. .actually loved the first Gothic Church I went to so that had to be my only regret of Barcelona.Because when your with daa boys u get Squaaat Accomplished lol.

Anyway from the restaurant we split up. Chris and John went on one of those bus tours that show you around Barcelona and you can get off/ on the bus as you please. Well let me just say that they staid on and never came of lol – they didn’t even stay up for the thing!! Just goes to show you how our night went last night and how guys do squat.

But I had a mission.. a mission to get a fresh cut for the night. I know sounds weird but I wanted to get a traditional Spanish/ European hair cut. Soo with my newspaper in hand and Tom by my side we walked the side streets of Barcelona. Mission : Hair cut / shop. We stopped in a lot of entertaining shops to find where one was. No matter how many people you ask where something is… they always seem to say something different..

After going to a few shops- meaning like 10 -14 we finally found it. It was a real nice place. I entered the “Pelogria” or “Haircuttery” … sooo excited. They were the nicest people. I showed them a hair cut of a futbol player that I admired. Lol. For all of you guys in Jersey it looks like Anthony Gags. Hair cut.. I think you guys gave them crap about it but I’m not sure. Well certainly I did not care. I would never have an opportunity do this again- if you know me I love getting my hair cut. They gave us a hair wash, a message, and a cut- we were set. It was like a new head on my shoulders.

We walked around town with a new swagger. Looking sooo European. We ran into a few SAS people – talked to them. We then went home to regroup, take a nap, and get ready for the night.

Hmm I don’t know if you’re ready for the details and what this night consisted of. Unfortunately, our crew got seperated. Anna and Mitchelle had their own plans, but we wound up doing the same thing that they intended to do. Bummer.

John, Chris, and I went with a group of abooout 15 girls and a few other guys. We were on our way to the famous “ fountain show”. Now .. when I heard fountain show I thought of the cheezy one in Las Vegas in the Bologio. Wooooo Was I WRONG!!! Shww just take what your thinking of and multiply it by 110! It was the coolest thing that I saw on this TRIP! YES THE TRIP. Why didn’t I think it was going to be AWESOME.. of COURSE IT was because of the architecture of this city and … it was “gay pride day”. HAHAHAHAH NICE! At least we had some chicas bonitas with us.

We all got off the metro and right away we heard music bumping…. Alllll the way from the subway. Hmm ok so I started to feel it. Then we saw thouusands of people, tourists – gay- couples- families- police the works. The view I still am going to stubble on explaining because it was sooo incredible.

We walked up the stairs surround by people, music… and a VIEW. There was a set of steps at a distance that was 4 times the size ( height and width) of that in Philadelphia in the Rocky movie. And at the top sat an exquisite Castle… yes a castle with bright lights shooting out from the top as if it was the main attraction of the night. On the bottom of the steps there was the beautiful fountain that shot up 100’s of feet and showering over the sides. Small fountains surrounded the larger fountain with colors alternating through it.

 

In our foremost vision there were about 30 large fountains on each side of the road leading up to the Castle. People were every wheere – couples – homosexuals- girls – police – police – families – tourists … the whole city pretty much. Music was bumping the nights light was in the sky, the air was fresh and crisp.. I was feeling great. There was a huge stage that sat before the fountain with a much of men dancing on it… provocatively and two men on the sides shooting foam outta these foam blasters. Pshhh what a sight. All the girls were screaming in excitement… or was that me , definitely not.. Guys staired me DOWN pshh now I know how these girls feel. Mind you I just got a European Hair cut and I bought a European out fit = 0 woops! LOL We ran down the fountain dancing, fist pumping, snapping pictures for about a ¼ of a mile until we go to the stage.

That’s enough about that! We then took the Metro to a great bar to get drinks and meet the “locals”. Well you can read on if you want but for the family- it wont be for your best interest. Nothing bad just dancing, a few drinks, and ladies. Whhaaat I know.. Im in college. I am responsible and I have self descipline – don’t worry. I look out for my friends and their best interests. We stick together.

We stick together all the way to this bar were all the SAS people are at. Supposedly they have the best drinks. Man they were not kidding. It was about 22:00 so we were hungry, it was Dinner time. We grabbed lunch at the excused place. It was a lot like our lunch, so refer to that for a similar discription.

I met the owner of the bar outside on my way in. It was an older women with the kindest heart, her name was Teresa (lol).  It seemed she loved and had a passion for interacting with the younger crowd. She personalized everyones visit to her bar- she got to know everyone names and background. Very traditional. As soon as you walked in you could feel the vibe.

It was an AUTHENTIC Barcelona bar. No telvision, just conversation to carry and enrich the night. There were a lot of small stools that you can move around from table to table. Even in the bathroom hallway there were stools to sit. It was crowded. The drinks were self serve.. self SERve nnnever heard such a thing. I didn’t really drink that night so me and my friend split a drink… LOL split a drink. You basically got a whole bottle, a cup, and a chaser drink. You can fill the glass to whatever hieght you wanted with the bottle of liquor and poor the other drink as you pleased.

It was great.. the night was amazing. I talked to a lot of local people from all over the world, Razzmatazz was a bust so don’t go there if you are ever in Barcelona. It was a famous 6 floor night club that obliderated my expectations. This entry is particularly long- it was in all a great night. Great conversations, great food, and drinks. You could not ask for more… ohh and that fountain show = ).

No comments:

Post a Comment